Cow Boyhood | S. J. Dahlstrom #7 in the Wilder Good series

Cow Boyhood is the seventh book in the award-winning Wilder Good series, published by Paul Dry Books, from our friend S.J. (Nathan) Dahlstrom.

This book covers a theme not limited to youth and coming of age; it is a subject we find ourselves dealing with, often uncomfortably, throughout our lives as we recognize the limitations placed on our parents and mentors by age.

Cow Boyhood is an entertaining read which gently reminds us of God’s established order in life and how we will all become those older giants in the eyes of the young. It is up to how we live as to whether we are seen as wise and good, and Wilder reminds us that youth are always watching and learning even when we don’t give a thought to such.

About this edition in the Wilder Good series:

Thirteen-year-old Wilder has spent his boyhood watching men like his grandpa Papa Milam . . . and wanting to be like them. Now he is leaving on a two day cattle drive through river and canyon country with his aging Papa and another older man, Red Guffey. In big ranch country full of livestock and wild animals, Wilder is forced to recognize that his own instincts and abilities may have become greater than those of his heroes.

“Dahlstrom’s superb writing takes Wilder through those anxiety-producing years between childhood and adulthood, when life’s simplest and most important lessons are learned,” declared a review in Forbes and that superb writing continues in Cow Boyhood.

You can read a fabulous magazine feature on Dahlstrom, with plenty of photographs, by clicking on this link:

Be Wilder, not wimpy! Keep up with all things Wilder at:

Speak Your Mind


© Pratt on Texas / Perstruo Texas, Inc.