

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 23, 2015 Contact: 512-463-0715

Lieutenant Governor Patrick Announces Senate Committee Assignments

AUSTIN - Today, Dan Patrick ended his first week as Texas Lieutenant Governor by announcing the following Senate Committee assignments for the 84th Legislative Session.

"After much thought and careful consideration, today I am announcing the members selected to serve on the fourteen committees approved by the Texas Senate. These committees will work on the critical issues that affect all Texans," said Patrick.

"This efficient structure of streamlined committees will allow for the passage of not only a variety of issues but of Texan's top priorities, such as education reform, tax relief and border security.

"All members, including freshmen, have significant roles. These appointments also ensure that valuable institutional knowledge in the Senate has been carried over to each Senate committee.

"I am also proud to appoint Jane Nelson as the first woman in history to serve as Chair of the Committee on Finance during a regular legislative session," said Patrick.

"I promised Texas voters that we would get the job done and now we have the team in place to get to work," concluded Patrick.

Committee on Administration

Hancock	Kelly	Chair
Uresti	Carlos	Vice Chair
Campbell	Donna	
Eltife	Kevin	
Huffines	Don	
Schwertner	Charles	
West	Royce	

<u>Committee on Agriculture, Water and Rural Affairs</u>

Perry	Charles	Chair
Zaffirini	Judith	Vice Chair
Creighton	Brandon	
Hall	Bob	
Hinojosa	Juan "Chuy"	
Kolkhorst	Lois	
Rodriguez	José	

<u>Committee on Business and Commerce</u>

Eltife	Kevin	Chair
Creighton	Brandon	Vice Chair
Ellis	Rodney	
Huffines	Don	
Schwertner	Charles	
Seliger	Kel	
Taylor	Larry	
Watson	Kirk	
Whitmire	John	

Committee on Criminal Justice

Whitmire	John	Chair
Huffman	Joan	Vice Chair
Burton	Konni	
Creighton	Brandon	
Hinojosa	Juan "Chuy"	
Perry	Charles	
Van de Putte	Leticia	

Committee on Education

Taylor	Larry	Chair
Lucio	Eddie, Jr.	Vice Chair
Bettencourt	Paul	
Campbell	Donna	
Garcia	Sylvia	
Huffines	Don	
Kolkhorst	Lois	
Rodriguez	José	
Seliger	Kel	
Taylor	Van	
West	Royce	

Committee on Finance

Nelson	Jane	Chair
Hinojosa	Juan "Chuy"	Vice Chair
Bettencourt	Paul	

Eltife	Kevin
Hancock	Kelly
Huffman	Joan
Kolkhorst	Lois
Nichols	Robert
Schwertner	Charles
Seliger	Kel
Taylor	Larry
Uresti	Carlos
Watson	Kirk
West	Royce
Whitmire	John

Committee on Health and Human Services

Charles	Chair
Lois	Vice Chair
Donna	
Craig	
Charles	
José	
Van	
Carlos	
Judith	
	Lois Donna Craig Charles José Van Carlos

Committee on Higher Education

Seliger	Kel	Chair
West	Royce	Vice Chair
Bettencourt	Paul	
Burton	Konni	
Perry	Charles	
Van de Putte	Leticia	
Watson	Kirk	

<u>Committee on Intergovernmental Relations</u>

Lucio	Eddie, Jr.	Chair
Bettencourt	Paul	Vice Chair
Campbell	Donna	
Garcia	Sylvia	
Nichols	Robert	
Taylor	Larry	
Van de Putte	Leticia	

Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development

Fraser	Troy	Chair
Estes	Craig	Vice Chair
Birdwell	Brian	

Hall	Bob
Hancock	Kelly
Hinojosa	Juan "Chuy"
Lucio	Eddie, Jr.
Nichols	Robert
Uresti	Carlos
Seliger	Kel
Zaffirini	Judith

<u>Committee on Nominations</u>

Birdwell	Brian	Chair
Taylor	Van	Vice Chair
Burton	Konni	
Fraser	Troy	
Estes	Craig	
Rodriguez	José	
Watson	Kirk	

<u>Committee on State Affairs</u>

Huffman	Joan	Chair
Ellis	Rodney	Vice Chair
Birdwell	Brian	
Creighton	Brandon	
Estes	Craig	
Fraser	Troy	
Nelson	Jane	
Schwertner	Charles	
Zaffirini	Judith	

Committee on Transportation

Robert	Chair
Don	Vice Chair
Rodney	
Troy	
Sylvia	
Bob	
Kelly	
Lois	
Van	
	Don Rodney Troy Sylvia Bob Kelly Lois

<u>Committee on Veteran Affairs and Military Installations</u>

Campbell	Donna	Chair
Burton	Konni	Vice Chair
Birdwell	Brian	

Garcia	Sylvia
Hall	Robert
Lucio	Eddie, Jr.
Rodriguez	José

Border Security Subcommittee

Birdwell	Brian	Chair
Hall	Bob	Vice Chair
Lucio	Eddie, Jr.	